North East Development Commission Board Inaugurated, Takes Off With N10bn Grant



President Muhammadu Buhari has kick-started the take-off of the North East Development Commission (NEDC), with the official inauguration of the board on Wednesday.

Already, about N10 billion has been approved for the agency to carry out reconstruction and rehabilitation works in the North East region, which has been devastated by Boko Haram’s insurgency since 2009.


Inaugurating the board, shortly before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting at the Presidential Villa, President Buhari said his inspiration to establish the commission was borne out of a desire to fulfil his pledge of rebuilding the zone.

The board is chaired by Major General Paul Tarfa (rtd). He was mandated by the president to conduct a comprehensive survey of all the states in the North East to know the magnitude of damage caused by the insurgency.

The inauguration of the board is coming ahead of the N10 billion budgeted for the agency in the 2019 appropriation bill.

According to Buhari, the establishment of the commission was also in appreciation of the massive electoral support of the zone in 2015 and 2019 general elections.

“The establishment of the commission is in fulfilment of the pledge of this administration to the people of the North East geopolitical zone and as part of the strategy for regenerating the socio-economic potentials of the geopolitical zone after the devastation of the Boko-Haram insurgency. It is also in appreciation of the massive electoral support received from the zone in 2015 and 2019 general elections.

According to the president, they are to commence the process of resettlement and rehabilitation of internally displaced persons (lDPs) to their original homes or new communities in order to bring social cohesion in the zone.

They are also to coordinate and promote civil-military confidence building and put in stabilisation measures that will ensure continued peace and social harmony as well as avoid the reoccurrence of violence in the zone.

Other members of the board are Mohammed Alkali, Managing Director; Musa Yashi, Executive Director (Humanitarian Affairs); Muhammed Jawa, Executive Director (Administration and Finance); Omar Mohammed, Executive Director (Operations).

Others are David Kente, member representing North East Zone; Asmau Mohammed, member representing North West zone; Benjamin Adanyi, member representing North Central zone; Olawale Oshun, member representing South West zone; Dr. T. Ekechi, member representing South East, and Obasuke McDonald, member representing South South.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *