Emir of Kano’s powers reduced as State Assembly creates four new Emirates


The faceoff between the Emir of Kano and Governor Umar Ganduje has left the monarch bruised.

The emir, Muhammadu Sanusi II, will now have control of only 8 out of the 44 local government areas in the state, following creation of four new emirates with first class status by Kano State House of Assembly on Wednesday.


In the initial proposal, the Kano Emirate was allocated 10 local government but when the House went into a committee of a whole, the local governments were reduced to eight.

The newly established emirates are Bichi, Rano, Gaya and Karaye.

According to the final amended copy law, the Emir of Kano was allocated Kano Municipal, Tarauni, Dala, Nassarawa, Fagge, Gwale, Kumbotso and Ungogo Local Government Areas.

But Bichi Emirate, which is second in hierarchy, has nine local government areas of Bichi, Bagwai, Tsanyawa, Kunchi, Makoda, Danbatta, Dawakin Tofa, Tofa and Minjibir.

The third in hierarch, Rano Emirate, has 10 local government areas of Rano, Bunkure, Kibiya, Takai, Sumaila, Kura, Doguwa, Tudun Wada, Bebeji and Garun Malam.

Gaya Emirate also has under its control 10 local government areas of Gaya, Ajingi, Albasu, Wudil, Garko, Warawa, Gezawa, Gabasawa and Dawakin Kudu.

Like Kano Emirate, Karaye Emirate has eight local government areas under its control. They are: Karaye, Rogo, Gwarzo, Kabo, Rimin Gado, Madobi, Kiru and Shanono.

According to the Section 4(2) of the amended law, the chairman of the council of traditional rulers shall be rotational.

“Chairman of the Council shall be rotational whom shall serve for a period of 2 Years; sequence of which is to be determined by the Governor,” the law provided.

The new law also confers right on ruling dynasty of Kano Emirate, the Dabo clan, to become emirs in both Kano and Bichi Emirates.
*Photo: Emir of Kano


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *