Wednesday , 26 February 2020
Latest News
Home » Breaking News / Latest News » Oyo, council chiefs fail to reach agreement
Oyo, council chiefs fail to reach agreement

Oyo, council chiefs fail to reach agreement

The arrangement to settle out-of-court, the ongoing rift between the Oyo State Government and the sacked local government councils has suffered a setback.

The meeting, held at a location in Ibadan at about 3pm on Tuesday, did not last long as expected.

It was learnt that although the meeting began on a note of conviviality between members of the two negotiating teams, it hit the rock when the team representing the sacked councils and the All Progressives Congress (APC) requested a position paper from the government team to guide the negotiations.

While the government team went to the meeting without a position paper, the APC team did.

The position paper is meant to give details of what each party wants in a case and the reason behind its request. It helps each party to have a clear understanding of what the other party wants and why.

Position papers also help guide negotiations and serve as proper record which parties cannot deny after agreements have been reached and such agreements have been produced as a document to be signed by both parties.

APC team insisted that it would not go into any negotiation without a position paper from the government team. Consequently, the meeting was brought to an abrupt end.

The government had announced at the last hearing last week that it would opt for an out-of-court settlement on the lingering political crisis, which had crippled governance at the local government level in Oyo State since May 29 last year.

It appealed a High Court judgment which restrained it and the House of Assembly from sacking the elected local government councils. There is also another suit at the state High Court on the crisis.

The case was adjourned till today (Wednesday).

Leading the government team was the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Prof. Oyelowo Oyewo. With him were Mr. Akin Onigbinde (SAN) and Mr. Kunle Kalejaye (SAN), among others.

Chief Niyi Akintola (SAN) led the APC team with the party’s state Secretary, Mr. Mojeed Olaoya.

About Femi Ige