Tuesday , 4 August 2020
Latest News
Home » Breaking News / Latest News » Lagos Assembly suspend Tinubu’s boy, Oloruntoba Oke as Ifako LG chair
Lagos Assembly suspend Tinubu’s boy, Oloruntoba Oke as Ifako LG chair

Lagos Assembly suspend Tinubu’s boy, Oloruntoba Oke as Ifako LG chair



Oloruntoba Oke, Chairman of Ifako Ijaiye Local Government Area of Lagos State  has been suspended indefinitely by the state House of Assembly. Citing fund mismanagement, financial recklessness, abuse of office and misappropriation of public funds as reasons for the suspension, the house directed the Vice Chairman of  the council, Usman Hamzat, to take over the affiars of the local government immediately.


The suspension was announced on Friday, 22 November, 2019 by the Assembly at its plenary session.

Thestateonline  learnt that the suspension was the outcome of a 5-man Ad-hoc Committee set up by the Speaker of the Assembly, Rt Hon Mudashiru Obasa, to investigate allegations of abuse of office and financial recklessness leveled against the council boss by Concerned Citizens of the Local Government.

The Ad Hoc Committee headed by Hon. Rotimi Olowo after series of meetings with stakeholders in the local government and assessment tour of the council area, discovered that the suspended Council boss obtained a loan from Skye Bank now Polaris Bank in 2012 to execute five projects in the Council but the projects for which the loan was obtained have not been completed.

It was also observed that all conditions stipulated in the loan as approved by the state Ministry of Local Government and Community Affiars were violated and the huge amount expended on the construction of the new secretariat complex was not commensurate with the level of work executed.

All the lawmakers who spoke on the report, agreed with recommendation of the committee to suspend the council boss indefinitely while they all agreed that it would serve as deterrent to other council bosses who may tow the line of Oke.

Some of the lawmakers who spoke on the matter at the plenary session include: the Deputy Majority Leader, Hon Muyiwa Jimoh; Hon Abiodun Tobun; and Hon Bisi Yusuf.

The Speaker, confirming the suspension and directed the Clerk of the Assembly, Alhaj Azeez Sanni to  communicate the decision of the Assembly to the appropriate quarters.

About Femi Ige