Wednesday , 1 April 2020
Latest News
Home » Breaking News / Latest News » Kwara by-Election: Two Out of 8 Parties Bow Out

Kwara by-Election: Two Out of 8 Parties Bow Out

By Joe Adedeji, Ilorin
Two out of eight political parties that signified intentions to take part in the March 14 House of Assembly by-election into Patigi constituency might have bowed out.
They had earlier in compliance with the timetable of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) obtianed Form EC9 and EC9E and went ahead to conduct their primary elections.
INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), in Kwara State, Malam Garba Attahiru-Madami who made this known in Ilorin said INEC headquarters however communicated list of the six political parties to Kwara through a letter signed by the Commission’s Secretary, Mrs Rose Anthony.
He disclosed that the letter, dated Feb 20, 2020 was titled: “Forwarding of forms EC9 and final list of candidates for Patigi State Constituency By-election scheduled for 14th day of March, 2020.”
The Kwara REC added that by the letter from INEC headquarters, only six political parties would now partake in the by-election.
According to him, the six political parties and their candidates were Shehu D. Usman (AAC), Zubairu Shaba Musa (ADC) and Ahmed Rufai Adam (APC).
Others were Mohammed Aishetu (APM), Oladipo Benjamin (NNPP) and Mohammed Salihu Yahaya (PDP).
Attahiru-Madami also disclosed that INEC published the list of the candidates in accordance with section 31 (3) of the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.
The eight political parties were Action Alliance (AA), African Democratic Congress (ADC), African Action Congress (AAC), All Progressive Congress (APC), Allied Peoples Movement (APM), Action Peoples Party (APP), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
The Constituency seat in the House of Assembly became vacant with the death of the incumbent, Hon. Ahmed Rufai on Tuesday Dec. 3, 2019.
The House Clerk had notified INEC about the death of the member via a letter on Jan. 27, 2020 in line with section 116 (2) of the 1999 Constitution.

About Demola Abimboye